top of page

Our Recent Posts

Tags

No tags yet.

Tag Playtime


When I am not sure what I want to make or I am in a creative slump I like to make tags. You can purchase them in a variety of sizes or you can make them yourself. Follow along below for these two easy little tags.

The first thing I did was to take a piece of large Bristol Marker Paper. I like this paper because it is a little thicker than card stock but not as heavy as watercolor paper. Better yet it loves markers!! Especially the Tombow and Copic Brands.

Now take some of your favorite rubber stamps and some Archival Ink or any other brand of ink that is waterproof and permanent.

I usually ink up a couple pages so I can have a supply on hand. Also, I prefer to color them before I cut them.

Now take your markers and play.... really blend the colors because of the smooth surface of the paper the markers blend quite well.

Now sit in front of the television or outside on the patio if the weather is nice and start cutting. Then I took my Distress Oxide Inks and dabbed the colored pads onto a piece of plastic and spritzed it with water. Next take the tags and slide them across the plastic or take the plastic and slide it across tags. I like to get a few layers so the color is rich.

Here I took two stencils TCW751 Kitchen Tiles and TCW774 Tuscan Floral and gently rubbed with a baby wipe. Look at how the color seems to light up in the background.

Time for some texture. I used a stamp IO L22004 by Rebekah Meier and Merry Go Round Green Embossing Powder from Lindys Gang.

For the teal tag I used Carabelle-Studios Art Stamp "Flower and Borders" by Birgit Koopsen with Cleopatra's Copper Embossing Powder from Lindy's Gang.

Loving how the backgrounds turned out I then took my Archival Ink in Bluebird and Thistle with a blending tool I rubbed along the edges of the tags making sure to rub some ink into the corners.

Time to assemble my tags I really love to add details like glitter and contrast.

This is the Rose colored tag and as you can see I used some of the Thermoweb Adhesive backed Foam for the primary embossed butterfly and then I used a piece of scrap drop paper for the detailed wings.

For the Teal colored tag I decided to add some holiday spirit and yes its quite obvious I didn't end up using any of the stamped images I colored earlier but they were actually too big for these tags. But I promise they will not go to waste.

One more time here are my two little tags. I hope I have inspired you to go play with your supplies.

Hugs,

Connie


bottom of page