top of page

Our Recent Posts

Tags

No tags yet.

Beautiful Foil Tag


Hello Everyone,

I am so excited to be a part of this Paper Art Collage Blog Hop along with some very talented Artists. Please be sure to check out all of their websites to see the full Blog Hop.

For me not just color but also texture is so vital to my artwork. I love to take the colors I see in nature and bits and baubles I find then add some delicious texture that just makes you want to reach out and touch my creations. For me art is not just the pieces I put into it, its a feeling an emotion.

I was recently given an advance copy of a brand new e-book Paper Art Collage by my friend and designer, Rebekah Meier: https://bellacraftspublishing.com/paper-art-collage-with-rebekah-meier/ please be sure to follow this link to her brand new e-book. This book is full of great ideas and lots of products that you might enjoy. The following project was inspired by the pages of her book so I really hope you enjoy. Don't worry I will put the link again at the end of this post.

****Also, to continue along on our Paper Art Collage Blog Hop make sure to click the following links at the end of this blog post****

For this tag follow the instructions below.... and make sure to have some fun with it!!

First I took a piece of scrap card stock paper that I had used as my drop paper and applied these Mixed Media Adhesive Sheets by Rebekah Meier Designs. You just peal the paper off one side, apply to the tag, and trim. Please hold off before you remove the other piece of protective paper.

See how beautifully easy that was and now you have a deliciously tacky adhesive to apply whatever medium you choose.

I then took Mixed Media Transfer Foil by Rebekah Meier Designs for Thermoweb in the color of Old Gold and applied it to the tag. This was so easy I felt guilty.

Next I used Impression Obsession Rubber Stamp H22014 by Rebekah Meier along with some embossing ink and made random stamps leaving one full bloom in the center. Once I was done I moved quickly and shook some Ranger Teal Metallic Embossing Powder and applied it generously to the card. I applied direct heat with my heat gun and watched the magic happen.

Look at the gorgeous texture between the foil and the embossing powder.

But did I stop there... Nope I decided this was so much fun I took another IO Stamp L22013 by Rebekah Meier and some of the Ranger Sticky Embossing Powder then using the Patina colored Transfer Foil by Rebekah Meier for Thermoweb I rubbed it carefully using my fingernail making sure to check that the transfer was complete. Look how yummy the texture is!!!

Using a small piece of the Thermoweb Mixed Media Foam Sheets by Rebekah Meier Designs in my die cut machine I decided to cut some butterflies. These foam sheets are adhesive on one side which is great for making projects and it went through my BigShot machine like butter. I also took some of the scrap watercolor papers and cut out more detailed butterflies in all sizes. Once that was done I antiqued the edge of my tag with some Distressed Brown ink by StazOn.

In keeping with my teal and metallic theme I then took some brass colored paste and rubbed it lightly onto the foam. Then taking my Lindy's Starburst Sprays in Tibetan Poppy Teal and Cattail Copper Brown I sprayed the random sized butterflies but I decided to leave the watercolor paper untouched.

Here you can see a close up of the details.

I then pealed the adhesive off the back of the foam butterflies and stuck them on my tag.

Here is picture of my layout idea prior to my painting the foam half of the butterflies.

Next using some clear crafting glue I adhered the detailed fancy cut of the butterflies right on top of the foam. Once those were on I added my words. Next I took the random sized butterflies we dyed with the ink sprays earlier and placed them all around the tag.

Again a close up of the details and textures that just pop on this tag.

For this tag I used two techniques from Paper Art Collage by Rebekah Meier, Double Foil Transfer with Embossing Technique and Creating an Assemblage. I really hope you enjoyed this tutorial!!

For Deb Riddell - Paxton Valley Folk Art http://paxtonvalleyfolkart.blogspot.com

For Karenliz Henderson- www.karenlizhenderson.blogspot.com

and for Rebekah Meier www.rebekahmeier.com

bottom of page